Maximize Profits Selling Expensive Guns in Maine with Dunlap Gun Consigners
Gun owners in Maine that have expensive and collection worthy firearms, typically don’t want to settle for selling for less than what it is worth. Doing the research, finding a buyer and selling in a reasonable amount of time can prove to be a daunting task for those selling by themselves. With Dunlap Gun Consigners, gun owners with investment grade guns don’t have to worry about navigating the many obstacles that come with selling privately.
Our staff utilizes insightful sales data to determine what guns can sell for, showcase firearms to an expansive audience of potential buyers from across the United States, deploy cutting edge marketing tactics to increase the final sale price and cover all associated costs that come with selling and transferring.
Most importantly, we guarantee selling clients firearms and paying them within 15 – 30 days, something that other gun consignment services cannot offer. The process is effortless and clients can rest easy from the comfort of home and have peace of mind that their firearm is being handled by a team of dedicated professionals.
If this still is not enticing enough to use our service, we have compiled a helpful overview of Maine’s gun regulations below for those who are determined to sell on their own.
What are the Requirements to Legally Purchase a Firearm in Maine?
In order to purchase a firearm legally, the buyer must be 18 years old to purchase rifles, shotguns and ammunition. Buyers looking to purchase handguns must be at least 21 years old. No permits or registration are required to own a firearm in this state.
Anyone purchasing a firearm from a licensed firearms dealer must complete a Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco & Firearms form 4473 (firearms transaction form). This form will be maintained by the dealer. A firearms purchaser must, under the permanent provisions of the Federal Brady Law, also undergo a National Instant Criminal Background Check System check, which will be performed by the firearms dealer.
This check will indicate to the dealer whether the purchaser’s background allows for the person to complete the purchase of the firearm. If the check disallows the sale for no warranted reason, there is an appeal process the purchaser can pursue to receive the necessary clearance to complete the purchase.
How to Conduct a Private Sale in Maine?
According to the Maine’s state legislature, background checks are required for all sales and transfers of firearms. Each sale or transfer of a firearm occurring in whole or in part in this state between unlicensed persons must be preceded by a background check on the transferee and an unlicensed person may not sell or transfer a firearm and an unlicensed person may not receive a firearm without complying with the background check mandate.
If neither party to a sale or transfer has a federal firearms license, the parties are to meet at a licensed firearm dealer, who conducts a background check on the transferee and completes the sale or transfer as if selling or transferring from the dealer’s own inventory. Exceptions to the background check requirement are made for transfers between family members, while the parties are hunting or sport shooting, for emergency self-defense, in the presence of the transferor and in other circumstances.
Maine Firearm Ownership Restrictions
FEDERAL DISQUALIFICATION CATEGORIES
- Conviction (felony or misdemeanor) where the crime has a maximum imprisonment term exceeding 1 year (even if a buyer did not receive actual imprisonment exceeding 1 year).
- Warrant (felony or out-of-state misdemeanor).
- Felony pre-trial release.
- Misdemeanor crimes of domestic violence restraining/stalking/protection order mental health adjudication or commitment.
- Unlawful use or addicted to a controlled substance (including marijuana).
- Dishonorable discharge from the armed forces.
- Renounced U.S. citizenship.
- Illegal alien.
For more details on Maine’s gun regulations visit: maine.gov/sos/cec/elec/citizens/background.pdf
Want to make sure your firearm is sold legally for top dollar? Use GunConsignment.com for peace of mind!
Our service allows you to relax from the comfort of home while our staff of professionals navigate the hard part of selling a firearm through consignment. Our process is not only safe and hassle-free, it is lightning fast.
We guarantee your consigned firearm will fetch top-dollar and you will be paid within 15 – 30 days no matter what time of year it is or where you are located within the United States!
Just tell us the specific make, model and caliber of your firearm, upload a few photos of it and once we agree on a price, we’ll provide a cost free shipping label via UPS. Any and all additional expenses will be paid by Dunlap Gun Consigners.
Begin our safe, discrete and legal process here.
The information contained on this website has been prepared as a service to the internet community and is not intended to constitute legal advice. GunConsignment.com has used reasonable efforts in collecting, preparing, and providing quality information and material, but does not warrant or guarantee the accuracy, completeness, adequacy, or currency of the information contained in or linked to this website. Users of information from this website or links do so at their own risk and should consult their local firearm law resources and/or an attorney when engaging in selling a firearm.