Want to Sell a Gun in Alaska? Try Out the Premier Online Gun Consignment Service
Looking to sell your gun in Alaska on your own? As good as it sounds to cut out the middle man and selling a gun on your own, there are some challenges. Tackling the task can be a struggle for the unprepared and uninformed. From finding an eligible buyer, fetching the desired price to sell at and navigating the often times complicated laws surrounding firearms make selling gun privately a time consuming and frustrating ordeal. To save yourself from the impending headache, selling a gun through consignment is the best option because you’re leaving it up to the professionals to do the hard work.
But don’t use any run of the mill consignor; trust Dunlap Gun consignors. Our expertise, reliable data and modern techniques we utilize to sell guns are unparalleled when compared to others in the business. Our guarantee is to maximize your return on investment in minimal time.
But if you’re still determined to sell your gun on your own, here is a help overview of some of the regulations surrounding the sale of a firearm.
Conducting a Private Sale of a Gun in Alaska
In the state of Alaska, there are no specific regulations requiring a background check to purchase, trade or sell a firearm through a private transaction between two individuals.
Even though there are no specific laws addressing private sales of a firearm, beware of potential legal ramifications. There are potential penalties if:
- It was sold to an ineligible person
- The firearm serial number was defaced upon the sale of it
- The firearm sold is federally or state restricted (explosive weapon, machine gun)
Alaska’s Restrictions on Firearm Ownership
In order to purchase a firearm legally, the buyer must be 18 years old to purchase rifles, shotguns or long guns. Buyers looking to purchase handguns must be at least 21 years old. Alaska defaults to federal law regarding the sale and purchase of firearms and there are no permits or registration required to own a firearm in this state.
FEDERAL DISQUALIFICATION CATEGORIES
- Conviction (felony or misdemeanor) where the crime has a maximum imprisonment term exceeding 1 year (even if a buyer did not receive actual imprisonment exceeding 1 year).
- Warrant (felony or out-of-state misdemeanor).
- Felony pre-trial release.
- Misdemeanor crimes of domestic violence restraining/stalking/protection order mental health adjudication or commitment.
- Unlawful use or addicted to a controlled substance (including marijuana).
- Dishonorable discharge from the armed forces.
- Renounced U.S. citizenship.
- Illegal alien.
For a more detailed look at Alaska firearm regulations click here.
Want to make sure your firearm is sold legally for top dollar? Use GunConsignment.com for peace of mind!
Our service allows you to relax from the comfort of home while our staff of professionals navigate the hard part of selling a firearm through consignment. Our process is not only safe and hassle-free, it is lightning fast.
We guarantee your consigned firearm will fetch top-dollar and you will be paid within 30 days no matter what time of year it is or where you are located within the United States!
Just tell us the specific make, model and caliber of your firearm, upload a few photos of it and once we agree on a price, we’ll provide a cost free shipping label via UPS. Any and all additional expenses will be paid by Dunlap Gun Consignors.
Begin our safe, discrete and legal process here.
The information contained on this website has been prepared as a service to the internet community and is not intended to constitute legal advice. GunConsignment.com has used reasonable efforts in collecting, preparing, and providing quality information and material, but does not warrant or guarantee the accuracy, completeness, adequacy, or currency of the information contained in or linked to this website. Users of information from this website or links do so at their own risk and should consult their local firearm law resources and/or an attorney when engaging in selling a firearm.